CMA Exam Structure

The CMA Exam Structure

Two Exam Parts

The CMA exam has 2 parts covering a wide range of accounting topics:


Financial Planning, Performance, and Analytics

15% External Financial Reporting Decisions
20% Planning, Budgeting, and Forecasting
20% Performance Management
15% Cost Management
15% Internal Controls
15% Technology and Analytics


Strategic Financial Management

20% Financial Statement Analysis
20% Corporate Finance
25% Decision Analysis
10% Risk Management
10% Investment Decisions
15% Professional Ethics

Types of Exam Questions

Each exam part has 100 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and 2 essay scenarios.

100 Multiple-Choice (3 Hours)

10 of the 100 questions are being evaluated by the ICMA as possible future exam questions, and are not part of your exam score and will not affect whether you pass or fail.

2 Essays (1 Hour)

Each essay has between 4 and 8 smaller individual questions called "Requirements" based on the facts provided. The Requirements may build on each other.

How is My Exam Score Determined?

CMA Exam Score. The CMA exam has a scaled scoring system, which means candidates get different points based on the exam difficulty. You have to get 360 points out of 500 to pass the exam. Note that this does not correspond to 72%; there is no direct correlation between points and percents.

A score of 360 is needed to pass.

of the multiple-choice questions need to be correct to move on to the essays.
of the points overall need to correct between the MCQs and the essays in order to pass.
cma 720 studying 3 cropped

Ready to Register?

Learn how to register for the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) exam.

Your Path to CMA Certification

Let us help you with your CMA exam journey!